Fire Department

Fire Home Page


The Franklin Fire Department was founded in 1880. The City of Franklin provides the only all career fire department in Johnson County, which consists of 48 career firefighters split amongst three shifts working a 24 on, 48 off schedule. The Franklin Fire Department consists of three stations: Station 21, Station 22 (Headquarters), and Station 23. Our fire department averages approximately 2500 calls a year. Each of our stations are staffed with paramedics and EMT's to provide the highest level of emergency medical care to the citizens of Franklin, in addition to fire suppression and rescue services.  

Mission Statement:

The Franklin Fire Department is a semi-military organization, based on loyalty and dedication of its members to provide safety and understanding to the citizens of the City of Franklin through education, fire prevention, and fire suppression, along with providing the citizens of Franklin a well-trained and equipped emergency medical service.

The members of the Franklin Fire Department pledge to perform their duties to the best of their ability to guarantee the protection of life and property.